logoShaping Tomorrow's Built Environment Today

ASHRAE International Building Decarbonization Conference 2024

Share This


ASHRAE International Building Decarbonization Conference 2024

April 17-19, 2024

Madrid, Spain


The ASHRAE International Building Decarbonization Conference 2024 is a must-attend event for all stakeholders in the built environment industry who are passionate about reducing carbon emissions from buildings and infrastructure.

This 3rd ASHRAE topical conference provides a unique opportunity for professionals to share information, exchange ideas and collaborate on the design, construction, ownership and operation of facilities that have a minimal or neutral impact on the environment in terms of carbon footprint. Our primary objective is to enrich the knowledge base while fostering global collaborations in decarbonization efforts, ultimately leading to a sustainable future for our planet. Join us at this groundbreaking event and be a part of the solution towards a greener, more sustainable built environment.

This conference will take place April 17- 19, 2024 in Madrid, Spain.

  • Registration

    Early Bird Registration: Opens November 2024 Rate
    Member  $  495.00
    Non Member $  545.00
    Regular Registration:  Rate
    Member $  545.00
    Non Member $  595.00
    Other Registration:  Rate
    Speaker  $  350.00
    Student $  100.00
    One Day (Available Onsite Only, Does not include post conference access to session recordings) $  175.00
    Virtual Registration:  Rate
    OnDemand Access to Sessions Recordings $100.00
    Early Bird Registration
    OnDemand Access to Sessions Recordings $150.00
    OnDemand Access to Sessions Recordings $   25.00

    In-Person Attendees will receive the following:

    • Access to Technical Program from April 17-19, 2024.
    • Interactive Conference App: ASHRAE 365
    • Access to the Virtual Conference for 12 months post-Conference. The Virtual Conference includes access to:
      • Recordings of all sessions within 24 hours of in-person session.
      • The ability to download all Conference Papers and Extended Abstracts as well as other conference materials
    • Welcome Reception Tuesday Evening
    • Closing Reception Thursday Evening
    • Lunch, morning and afternoon coffee breaks each day
    • Breakfast is included in hotel reservation

    Virtual Attendees will receive:

    • Interactive Conference App: ASHRAE 365
    • Access to the Virtual Conference page for 12 months post-Conference. The Virtual Conference includes access to:
      • Recordings of all sessions within 24 hours of in-person session.
      • The ability to download all Conference Papers and Extended Abstracts as well as other conference materials
  • Technical Programs

    The conference will address the following topics:

    • Policy and Standards
    • Case Studies and Practical Insights
    • Operational Carbon
    • Embodied Carbon
    • Smart Buildings-Grid-Cities
    • Refrigerants
    • Extreme Climate Considerations
    • Market Transformation
    • Large Infrastructure and Mission Critical Environments
    • Non-Commercial Facilities
    • User Roles
    • Renewable Energy
    • Commissioning
    • Certification and Continuous Education
    • Heat pumps (residential and non-residential, low-temp and high-temp, industrial)


Description automatically generated Upcoming Deadlines

    Deadline Date Deadline Details
    December 11, 2023   Paper Manuscript Due in PDF format (ready for printing)
    Janaury, 2024 Paper Review Complete; Conference Program Published

    Papers will undergo a single-blind peer review handled by two reviewers. The papers accepted and presented at the Conference will be published in e-Proceedings published by ASHRAE, Peachtree Corners, GA 30092, and will be submitted to citation and abstracting services.  All presentations by authors will be made onsite, in-person at the Conference (no virtual presentations).



    Thank you to the following sponsors of the ASHRAE International Building Decarbonization Conference 2024​!


    Diamond Sponsor


    Platinum Sponsors

    Gold Sponsor


    Silver Sponsor


    Bronze Sponsor


    The conference organizers are pleased to offer several sponsorship opportunities to engage industry participation. All sponsors will have their company logo on the conference web site and recognition during the conference. A summary of the specific benefits of each sponsorship level is included. If you have questions or are interesting in being a sponsor, please contact Staci Loeffler sloeffler@ashrae.org.


  • Steering Committee

    • Marianna Vallejo, Jacobs, Conference Chair
    • Costas Balaras, National Observatory of Athens, Scientific Committee Chair
    • Andres Sepulveda, Commtech Commissioning Services, Region XIV Liaison
    • Tom Lawrence, University of Georgia
    • Alkis Triantafyllopoulos, Menerga
    • Bing Liu, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
    • Ongun Berk Kazanci, Technical University of Denmark, ICIEE4
    • Joseph Firrantello, McKinstry
    • Ghina Annan, Stantec
    • Eduardo Maldonado, Engenharia da Universidade do Porto
    • Ginger Scoggins, Engineered Designs Inc, ASHRAE President
    • Craig Bradshaw, Oklahoma State University, CEC Representative
  • Conference Paper Reviewers

    Conference Reviewers:

    First Name Last Name AFFILIATIONS
    Amy  Costello Armstrong World Industries
    Doug Cochrane  
    Amanda Webb University of Cincinnati
    Aniruddh Roy Energy Solutions
    Jun Shinoda Technical University of Denmark
    Kan Shindo Waseda University
    Deagos-loan Bogatu Technical University of Denmark
    Mariya Petrova Bivolarova Technical University of Denmark
    Mizuho Akimoto Waseda University
    Kevin Mercer Rheem Company
    Dunstan L PE Setty and Associates
    Glenn Friedman  
    Shivraj Dhaka
    Kate Hickcox Pacific Northwest National Laboratory 
    Nora Esram American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy 
    Clay  Nesler Nesler Group, TFBD Excom member
    Andrea Mengual Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
    Adam Hinge Sustainable Energy Partnerships 
    Kim Cheslak Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
    Karma Sawyer Pacific Northwest National Laboratory 
    Harry Bergmann U.S. Department of Energy 
    Supriya Goel Pacific Northwest National Laboratory 
    Jaap Hogeling Standards NL and CEN
    Helder Gonçalves VP LNEG 
    Ljubomir Jankovic Director Zero Carbon Lab, Univ Hertfordshire, UK 
    J. Owen  Lewis University College Dublin
    Bratislav Blagojevic Univ. of Nis, Serbia
    Donald Colliver University of Kentucky
    Luke Leung Principal of the Sustainability Engineering Studio for Skidmore, Owings and Merrill LLP
    Blake Leung Burns & McDonnell
    Stet Sanborn SmithGroup
    Mar Serna ACIX COO
    Ignacio Gómez-Cornejo Managing Director Nexitic
    Fernando Varela ETSII UNED
    Ethan Heil University of Virginia
    Gary Heikkinen    Energy Consultant
    George Pantelidis    Energy Service Company
    Alkis Triantafyllopoulos Menerga Energiesysteme GmbH
    Avi Menashe A.M.International Consulting Engineers
    M Efthekhari Loughborough University
    T Cholewa Lublin University of Technology
    A Andjelkovic University of Novi Sad
    Elena Dascalaki Institute for Environmental Research & Sustainable Development, NOA
    Popi Droutsa
    David  Underwood  
    David  Lima 
    Bill Dean  
    Art Giesler
    Doug  Cochrane  
    Bert  Phillips