Shaping Tomorrow's Built Environment Today

ASHRAE Board of Directors

Share This

Slate of Nominees

Slate of Nominees for 2018-2019 Officers and Directors

Through an elaborate committee structure, including committees and councils, ASHRAE policies are established by a Board of Directors comprised of Society members elected by the membership. Board members serve terms of one to three years, including the President who serves a one‐year term.

The ASHRAE Board of Directors includes the Executive Committee, the Directors and Regional Chairs, and the Directors-at-Large.

Below you'll find the current Board of Directors as well as access to the Board of Directors Minutes and Principal Motions.

Share your thoughts with the Board

  • Executive Committee


    Bjarne Olesen

    Bjarne W. Olesen, Ph.D., Fellow ASHRAE, Life Member
    Technical University of Denmark
    Kongens Lyngby, Denmark




    Sheila Hayter

    Sheila J. Hayter, P.E., Fellow ASHRAE
    National Renewable Energy Laboratory
    Golden, Colorado




    Darryl Boyce

    Darryl K. Boyce, P.Eng.
    Carleton University
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada



    Vice President

    Mick Schwedler

    Michael CA Schwedler, P.E., LEED AP
    Trane Corporation 
    La Crosse, Wisconsin



    Vice President

    Ginger Scoggins

    M. Ginger Scoggins, P.E.
    Engineered Designs
    Raleigh, North Carolina



    Vice President

    Edward Tsui

    Edward Ka Cheung Tsui
    Intelligent Technologies Ltd.
    Hong Kong



    Vice President

    Julia Keen

    Julia A. Keen, Ph.D., P.E.
    Kansas State University
    Manhattan, Kansas




    Jeff Littleton

    Jeff  H. Littleton
    Atlanta, Georgia

  • Directors and Regional Chairs

    Region I Director and Regional Chair

    Bill Walter

    William F. Walter
    Carrier Corporation 
    Syracuse, New York



    Region II Director and Regional Chair

    Doug Cochrane

    Douglas C. Cochrane, P.Eng.
    Carrier Enterprise Canada
    Mississauga, Ontario



    Region III Director and Regional Chair

    Roger Jones

    Roger K. Jones, P.E.
    EMS Technologies
    Herndon, Virginia



    Region IV Director and Regional Chair

    George Austin

    George W. Austin Jr., P.E., BEAP, BEMP, CPMP, HBDP, HFDP, OPMP
    Shultz Engineering Group
    Charlotte, North Carolina



    Region V Director and Regional Chair

    Douglas Fick

    Douglas D. Fick, P.E.
    TRC Worldwide MEP
    Fishers, Indiana



    Region VI Director and Regional Chair

    Benjamin Skelton

    Benjamin A. Skelton, P.E., BEMP
    Cyclone Energy Group
    Chicago, Illinois



    Region VII Director and Regional Chair

    Michael Cooper

    Michael P. Cooper, P.E.
    Bernhard MCC
    Kenner, Louisiana



    Region VIII Director and Regional Chair

    Jonathan Symko

    Jonathan I. Symko
    QSC Consultants Inc.
    Sugar Land, Texas



    Region IX Director and Regional Chair

    Trent Hunt

    Trenton S. Hunt
    Mechnical Products Intermountain, LLC
    Midvale, Utah



    Region X Director and Regional Chair

    Marites Calad

    Marites Dagulo Calad
    Norman S Wright
    Waipahu, Hawaii



    Region XI Director and Regional Chair

    Keith A. Yelton, Life Member
    ACI Mechanical and HVAC Sales
    Portland, Oregon



    Region XII Director and Regional Chair

    Daniel Rogers

    Daniel R. Rogers, P.E.
    Flow Control Technology Co.
    Tampa, Florida



    Region XIII Director and Regional Chair

    Ng Yong Kong

    Ng Yong Kong, P.Eng., GBIF
    NYK Engineering and Trading S/B
    Subang Jaya, Malaysia



    Region XIV Director and Regional Chair

    Costas Balaras

    Constantinos A Balaras, Ph.D., P.Eng.
    Vrilisia, Greece



    Region-At-Large Director and Regional Chair

    Farooq Mehboob

    Farooq Mehboob, P.E., Fellow ASHRAE, Life Member
    S. Mehboob and Co., Consulting Engineers
    Karachi, Pakistan

  • Directors-at-Large
    Van Baxter

    Van D. Baxter, P.E.
    Oak Ridge National Laboratory
    Oak Ridge, Tennessee

    Erich Binder

    Erich Binder
    Erich Binder Consulting
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada

    Donald Brandt

    Donald L. Brandt
    Phoenix,, Arizona

    Essam Khalil

    Essam Eldin Khalil, Ph.D., Fellow ASHRAE
    Cairo University

    Dennis Knight

    Dennis Knight, P.E., Fellow ASHRAE, BEMP
    Whole Building Systems
    Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina

    Tom Lawrence

    Thomas “Tom” M. Lawrence, Ph.D., P.E.
    University of Georgia
    Athens, Georgia

    Lawrence Markel

    Lawrence C. Markel, Fellow ASHRAE, Life Member
    CSRA, Inc.
    Knoxville, Tennessee

    Tim McGinn

    Tim J. McGinn, P.E.
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada

    Bill McQuade

    William “Bill” F. McQuade, P.E., Fellow ASHRAE
    Johnson Controls
    York, Pennsylvania


Board of Directors Minutes

Board of Directors Minutes for the past three years are avaialble below.  


Principal Motions

Board of Directors Principal Motions for the past four years are available below.


If you wish to access earlier copies of the minutes or principal motions, please contact Mary Townsend, Executive Assistant to Board of Directors, at for assistance.